Welcome to 2018

We want to welcome you all to our new website! We hope you will find it informative and easy to navigate. Keep checking our “News” page for up to date information on our chapter, the statewide organization, local issues, and more.

Some of our membership began the New Year by attending our Annual Statewide Meeting and Convention in Folsom.  Lake Natoma Inn was an excellent venue, and we were warmly welcomed by the merchants along historic Sutter Street.  Unfortunately, our members were unable to attend the ag tours on Friday offered by our hosts, Sacramento Valley Chapter.  However, a few of us were fortunate enough to visit the infamous Folsom Prison with a video led tour hosted by Huell Howser.  Fun fact: our state license plates are manufactured in the prison, and the DMV year stickers are produced at the California Men’s Colony in San Luis Obispo.

Statewide meetings are always a bit overwhelming in information but the camaraderie, friendship, and network building definitely contribute to the overall benefit. It was an honor to have California Department of Agriculture Secretary Karen Ross welcome us as we began the more fun portion of our meeting (speakers and workshops).  We had an excellent panel including: Dana Brennan (Chief of Staff, Senator Jean Fuller), Connie Conway (Past Assembly Minority Leader), Gail Delihant (Government Affairs, Western Growers), Fiona Ma (Board Member, California Board of Equalization), Renee Pinel (CEO/President, Western Plant Health).  The panel topic was Women Making a Difference and each shared their advice and perspective when presented with specific questions.  CWA Past President Celeste Settrini gave an inspiring speech about “Finding Your Why”, and Toni Scott of Morrison and Company gave great insight on engagement, that applied to both employees and volunteers.

We’d like to extend congratulations to our newly installed State Executive Board:

  • President: Sara Reid Herman (Sacramento Valley Chapter)
  • President Elect: Rose Tryon Van Cott (North Valley Chapter)
  • Vice President – External Relations: Janie Sustaita De Raadt (Tulare-Kings Chapter)
  • Vice President – Internal Relations: Maria Azevedo (Merced Chapter)
  • Secretary: Renee Avilla (Sacramento Valley Chapter)
  • Treasurer: Joan Webster (North Valley Chapter)

As well our new Central Coast District Director: Marta Alvarez (Ventura Chapter), and the Chapter presidents, including our own: Lauretta Griffin and Lacy Litten.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *